A hit and run accident is a very serious offense in the state of New Jersey. These accidents usually involve moving cars, but they can also involve a moving vehicle colliding with a pedestrian, a cyclist, a non-moving vehicle, and other property. If the crash involves a moving car that collided with another non-moving car or property, the act will be considered a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is a vehicle crash where there aren’t any human casualties involved. In such a situation, the offender may be fined as much as $5,000 depending on the state they are in.
On the other hand, if a moving car crashed into a cyclist, pedestrian, or another vehicle that had occupants inside it, and the driver did not get out of the vehicle to help the victim, view the level of casualty, or identify himself or herself, then such an act is considered a felony. This is because NJ Courts wants motorists to remain at the crash scene, no matter how small or big it is. For example, if you crashed into a signpost, you should wait for the police to come by. Moreover, if the crash resulted in serious injury or property damage, then all the drivers must wait for the law enforcement officers to show up.
What are My Rights as a Victim of a Hit and Run Accident in New Jersey?
If you are a victim of a collision in NJ, you will have a lot of legal options to choose from, especially if the police locate the guilty driver who ran away from the crash scene. Not only will the offender be facing penalties and criminal charges, but they will also be facing a civil lawsuit from you. In addition, if you have collision coverage and personal injury protection on your insurance plan, then you will be okay. The collision coverage will cover all the vehicle damage expenses that you have incurred while the PIP will cover your lost wages, medical treatment costs, and other losses. In NJ, drivers must have a minimum PIP coverage of $15,000. This applies to only one person per vehicle collision.
Moreover, if you are a victim of a hit and run accident in New Jersey, then you will have two lawsuit options to choose from: an unlimited right to sue and a limited right to sue. An unlimited right to sue applies if you have sustained injuries from the collision. It will provide you with compensation for all the injuries you sustained. A limited right to sue is applicable when either you or a family member has suffered from one or multiple permanent injuries.
If you are a victim of a vehicle crash, you can file a civil lawsuit against the driver for any injuries you have sustained. You may be entitled to not only the compensation amount but also punitive damages. In addition, you can seek compensation from your PIP and collision coverage. However, you should contact a lawyer to assist you through the legal process and win the case. A skilled lawyer will be able to understand your situation and make sure you get the compensation you deserve. Make sure you do the right amount of research and find the law firm that will work for you.